Posts Tagged ‘Early numeracy’

Over 44 under $4: Over 44 iOS Early Numeracy Apps under $4.00 each (34 free) + tips on using them for SLPs

.

Over 44 under $4: Here’s a list of over 44 iOS early numeracy apps. In this post I am sharing a mix of paid and free apps that I have used and found to be well designed and helpful.

* Free: 34 apps
* Affordable ($.99 – $3.99 – what you might pay for an item from the Target Dollar Spot, a latte from Starbucks, an item on Teachers Pay Teachers or a Boom Card deck): 13 apps
.
Why would an SLP use early numeracy apps?
1. A fun way to target plurals.
2. A fun way to work on concepts of “more” & “less”.
3. Many include early vocabulary.
4. Many kids with Autism and other special needs have a high interest in the predictability and repetition of numbers & counting so these apps are motivating. I had several patients who would do all kinds of other “work” to earn a couple of minutes playing a numbers/counting app at the end of a session. The same is true of alphabet apps.
5. The predictable nature of counting lends itself well to working on intraverbal fill-ins.
6. The abacus style apps can be fun to track productions in articulation drills.
.
More info about the importance of early numeracy skills:
* Lots of great suggestions for activities parents can do at home: https://www.zerotothree.org/resources/299-help-your-child-develop-early-math-skills
* http://www.child-encyclopedia.com/numeracy/introduction
.

1. Finger Glove COUNTING by Classroom Focused Software, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/finger-glove-counting/id1341469919, FREE
2. Finger Glove ADDITION by Classroom Focused Software, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/finger-glove-addition/id1341469963, FREE
3. 10 Bead Math by Classroom Focused Software, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/10-bead-math/id876463366, FREE
4. Number Rack, by MLC by Clarity Innovations, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/number-rack-by-mlc/id1469094747, FREE
5. Rekenrek by mathies by OAME, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/rekenrek-by-mathies/id868343670, FREE
6. 100 Yay! by Incandescent Core, LLC, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/100-yay/id797742352, FREE
7. Number Frames, by MLC by Clarity Innovations, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/number-frames-by-mlc/id873198123, FREE
8. Tiggly Cardtoons: 25 Interactive Counting Stories by Tiggly, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/tiggly-cardtoons-25-interactive-counting-stories/id923540012 (can be used without their styluses), FREE
9. Tiggly Chef Addition: Preschool Math Cooking Game by Tiggly, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/tiggly-chef-addition-preschool-math-cooking-game/id923367559 (can be used without their styluses), FREE
10. Farm 123 – Learn to count by StoryToys Entertainment Limited, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/farm-123-learn-to-count/id526322778, currently FREE
11. Good Night Bo: Read-Aloud Book by Wala Bear Inc., https://apps.apple.com/us/app/good-night-bo-read-aloud-book/id1455604118, currently FREE
12. The Lonely Beast 123 – Preschool Number Counting by James Kelleher, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/the-lonely-beast-123-preschool-number-counting/id646406000, currently FREE
13. Meet the Numberblocks! by Blue-Zoo, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/meet-the-numberblocks/id1445555400, FREE
14. Little Elephants (Elefantitos) Numbers by Encantos Media Studios, Inc., https://apps.apple.com/us/app/little-elephants-elefantitos-numbers/id1165150613, FREE
15. 10 fingers + by Marbotic, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/10-fingers/id733960020 (parts of it can be used without their wooden number styluses), FREE
16. Montessorium: Intro to Math by Higher Ground Education Inc, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/montessorium-intro-to-math/id381064973, currently FREE
17. TouchMath Counting by TouchMath Acquisition LLC, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/touchmath-counting/id719791250, currently FREE
18. TouchMath Jungle Addition 1 by TouchMath Acquisition LLC, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/touchmath-jungle-addition-1/id884856080, currently FREE
19. TouchCounts by Nathalie Sinclair, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/touchcounts/id897302197, FREE
20. Counting Marbles by NumberShapes LLC, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/counting-marbles/id1254726142, FREE
21. Toddler Counting by iTot Apps, LLC, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/toddler-counting/id356807235, FREE
22. 123Babycount by Wayne Smith, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/123babycount/id600693650, FREE
23. Butterfly Math Addition by Yuvika Mandhyan, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/butterfly-math-addition/id484002905, FREE
24. Kids Learning – My First Numbers Counting Game by Innovative Investments Limited, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/kids-learning-my-first-numbers-counting-game/id419028468, FREE
25. Numbers and Number Words by Good Neighbor Press, Inc, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/numbers-and-number-words/id439816682, currently FREE
26. 123 Numbers – Count & Tracing by RV AppStudios LLC, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/123-numbers-count-tracing/id1210356444, FREE

27. Math Kids – Add,Subtract,Count by RV AppStudios LLC
https://apps.apple.com/us/app/math-kids-add-subtract-count/id1272098657

28. Feed the Monkey by Busy Things Limited, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/feed-the-monkey/id600524229, FREE
29. LudiTab Numeration by SEJER, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/luditab-numeration/id1275103847, FREE
30. Khan Academy Kids by Khan Academy, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/khan-academy-kids/id1378467217, FREE (organized by type of activity and age/grade)
31. Elmo Loves 123s Lite by Sesame Street, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/elmo-loves-123s-lite/id708551925, FREE (numbers 1-3, get full paid version of the app for all numbers 1-20)
32. Learn Drawing Numbers for Kids by Bini Bambini Academy, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/learn-drawing-numbers-for-kids/id883610447 (FREE (numbers 1-4), has IAP for additional content. Love how it guides you through the tracing and then your drawing is animated.
33. Endless Numbers by Originator Inc., https://apps.apple.com/us/app/endless-numbers/id804360921, FREE (numbers 1-5), has IAPs for additional content (or get full paid version of the app)
34. Quick Math Jr. by Shiny Things, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/quick-math-jr/id926078360, FREE, has IAP for additional content
35. Numbers Farm Nursery Maths KS1 by BrightWare Ltd, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/numbers-farm-nursery-maths-ks1/id1203229439, $.99
36. Little Critter Numbers by Oceanhouse Media, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/little-critter-numbers/id893661053, $.99
37. 123 Star Gurus by Colto, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/123-star-gurus/id976534404, $.99
38. Count to 10: Learn Numbers with Montessori by EDOKI ACADEMY, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/count-to-10-learn-numbers-with-montessori/id577153082, $1.99
39. Jazzy 123 – Count with Music by The Melody Book, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/jazzy-123-count-with-music/id546207474, $1.99
40. Mabell’s Zoo by Brenda Long, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/mabells-zoo/id712415904, $1.99
41. Bugs and Numbers by Little Bit Studio, LLC, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/bugs-and-numbers/id577575295, $2.99
42. Little Digits Finger Counting by Cowly Owl Ltd, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/little-digits-finger-counting/id511606843, $2.99
43. TallyTots Counting by Little 10 Robot, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/tallytots-counting/id424070269, $2.99
44. Drive About Numbers by Artgig Studio, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/drive-about-numbers/id864136403, $2.99
45. Yum-Yum Numbers: count & write by Kindermatica Ltd., https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yum-yum-numbers-count-write/id1046482589, $2.99
46. Montessori Numbers for Kids by L’Escapadou, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/montessori-numbers-for-kids/id547209737, $3.99
47. Count with your fingers! by Génération 5, https://apps.apple.com/us/app/count-with-your-fingers/id803964961, $3.99
.
Want to suggest an iOS app to be added to this list? The best way to reach me is via Facebook messaging over on my OMazing Kids page. I’m pretty picky so they need to be well designed apps and be transparent/honest about any IAPs or subscriptions and not have any ads. If it’s a free app, please send the link from the USA App Store so I can download and try it out. If it’s a paid app and you are the app developer, please send the link from the USA App Store so I can look at the info before you send a promo code. I want to make sure that one of my iPads is compatible in order to try it out.

It took me quite a bit of time to compile this list so please “tag” OMazing Kids when sharing it on social media and do not copy/paste it onto other blogs or documents or upload it to servers. I have it available here on my blog and plan on keeping my blog up for the foreseable future.

Thanks,
Angela Moorad, MS, CCC-SLP, Founder of OMazing Kids, LLC
Facebook: https://bit.ly/2Si6k7Y
AppPeeps Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OMazingKidsAppPeeps/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/amoorad1/
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/amoorad
Blog: http://omazingkidsllc.com