{Best 17 in ’17} Top 17 new apps for SLPs released in 2017

.

{Best 17 in ’17} Top 17 new apps for SLPs released in 2017:

Here is a list of my top 17 favorite new apps released in 2017. Ranked based on being helpful with the most patients seen in OMazing Kids speech therapy this year. Prices are in the USA App Store (will vary elsewhere based on the exchange rate):

#1: Boo Articulation Helper by Bildligt talat AB, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/boo-articulation-helper/id1216642311?mt=8, $9.99. This app has motivated countless kids to imitate vowels, consonants, CV & VC combinations. Kids absolutely LOVE the Boo character. This app is worth it’s weight in speechie gold. Excited to hear they have more features being added in 2018. They offer a free lite version for those who want to try before you buy.

#2: Snap + Core First by Tobii Dynavox LLC, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/snap-core-first/id1072799231?mt=8, FREE – has no voice output but ASHA certified SLPs can now get free access to the voice output. See these posts for info about how to activate the free voice output in the free version of the app:

They also have this free companion app filled with videos, tutorials and tips. It’s a very large app so make sure you have plenty of free space and a strong WiFi connection before downloading: Pathways for Core First by Tobii Dynavox LLC, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pathways-for-core-first/id1187433636?mt=8

Tobii Dynavox has finally started an official Facebook group for users and several of their staff are quick to answer questions & troubleshoot issues: https://www.facebook.com/groups/tobiidynavoxcommunity

#3: Speech Tutor Educational by Synapse Apps, LLC, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/speech-tutor-educational/id1323272450?mt=8, $39.99. So many fantastic features packed into this new app (including their unique placement videos, minimal pairs, etc.). Includes kid-friendly & clean modes which makes the app suitable for any age patient. They also offer a subscription-based version of the app.

#4: Inference Pics by APTUS SPEECH & LANGUAGE THERAPY LTD, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/inference-pics/id1270407967?mt=8, $12.99. Includes the option to show or hide possible answers. When choices are shown there is a button on each choice that can be tapped to have it read aloud before selecting an answer. I love this feature! This makes the app customizable to a patient’s specific needs and accessible to those who may not be able to read. They offer a free lite version for those who want to try before you buy.

#5: Social Detective Intermediate by Social Skill Builder, Inc., https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/social-detective-intermediate/id1079442478?mt=8, $22.99. This app picks up where the Beginner leaves off and focuses on decoding the thoughts and emotions of people students interact with. Using this information, students will make smart guesses to predict what those people might do or say next.

#6: Conversation Starters: Social Skills for ASD Kids by Janine Toole, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/conversation-starters-social-skills-for-asd-kids/id1238325614?mt=8, $7.99. This app provides over 200 conversation-starting questions on a variety of topics. They offer a free lite version for those who want to try before you buy.

#7: Say It.. Or Not? Social Filter Skills: School Ed. by Janine Toole, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/say-it-or-not-social-filter-skills-school-ed/id1177251535?mt=8, $14.99. I am loving the content in this app! The scenarios provided are diverse and relatable. Although it takes a little longer for the app to load if you toggle on the “voice on” option, I highly suggest doing so. It will add the option for you to tap a speaker button on each item which then reads it to you. The voiceovers are very well done with great tones of voice. I appreciate that the developer included a way for the SLP to unlock all the content and go directly to an area they want to target. They offer a free lite version for those who want to try before you buy.

#8: Minimal Pairs for Speech Therapy by Innovative Investments Limited, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/minimal-pairs-for-speech-therapy/id1207483809?mt=8, 99 cents. ‘Cause a speechie can never have too many options for minimal contrast pairs. Love the large pics & it’s only 99 cents so great when parents ask for recommendations for apps for carryover at home.

#9: Sounds Essentials by Nabeel Ahmed Khan, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sounds-essentials/id1264473472?mt=8, FREE with $1.99 in-app purchase to unlock all the content. Fun app for auditory discrimination.

#10: Lively Letters – Phonemic Awareness & Phonics by Telian-Cas Learning Concepts Inc, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/lively-letters-phonemic-awareness-phonics/id1217971701?mt=8, $24.99. A unique app that targets phonemic awareness, phonics, and speech production.

#11: aacorn Plus – Advanced AAC by aacorn, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/aacorn-plus-advanced-aac/id1167373769?mt=8, $119.99. This version of the app includes over 7,000 SymbolStix symbols. I love that they are high contrast against a black background. I’ve found this app helpful for modeling sentence creation as well as for AAC.

#12: Make a Choice – AAC Buttons by pkclSoft, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/make-a-choice-aac-buttons/id1295966224?mt=8, $4.99. I enjoyed helping to beta-test this new simple AAC app. Very simple to use and affordable.

#13: Past Tenses With Splingo by The Speech And Language Store LLP, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/past-tenses-with-splingo/id969065228?mt=8, $2.99. Kids love learning regular & irregular past tense verbs with the Splingo character.

#14: Animal Fun Park Family Version by Filimundus AB, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/animal-fun-park-family-version/id1218307760?mt=8, $1.99. This app includes 15 fun mini games that are nice to use as short reinforcers during therapy. They offer a free lite version for those who want to try before you buy.

#15: Care for Our World by Sunbreak Games, LLC, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/care-for-our-world/id1097364668?mt=8, $2.99 -> currently on sale for 99 cents. The beautiful rhyming words flow easily as you read or listen to it being read to you & inspire kids to think about all the gifts of nature and living creatures from forest, jungle, or sea that live in our world and a plea to take care of them. The illustrations are breathtaking! Really more works of art than just illustrations. This app brings them alive in an amazing way. I love the gentleness of both the words & illustrations. Both evoke feelings of calmness & kindness. I love that the message of caring for the earth is done in a kid-friendly way.

#16: Apraximations – Mouth Cues by Alissa Holloway, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/apraximations-mouth-cues/id1310186235?mt=8, $14.99. This is the long awaited full version of this app. It just came out but I’ve already found it helpful with several patients.

#17: LudiTab Spatial Recognition by SEJER, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/luditab-spatial-recognition/id1275104117?mt=8, FREE. One in a series of eight new free apps that are well designed and have lots of great opportunities for targeting vocabulary, spatial concepts, sizes, colors, shapes, identifying sounds, following directions, etc. See this post: http://bit.ly/2CuTgD9.
.
Honorable Mentions: Seventeen more apps released in 2017 that I loved using in OMazing Kids speech therapy (listed in alphabetical order):

* Alphabet Essentials – ABC App by Nabeel Ahmed Khan, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/alphabet-essentials-abc-app/id1227619439?mt=8
* AR Talking Cards 4D by Nabeel Ahmed Khan, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/ar-talking-cards-4d/id1287378112?mt=8
* Articulation Cards by Innovative Investments Limited, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/articulation-cards/id1242446215?mt=8
* Balloon Pop for Toddlers and Kids by Ozgur Erdem Cinar, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/balloon-pop-for-toddlers-and-kids/id1232794567?mt=8
* Big Break: The Acting Game by Emote Play Apps Inc., https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/big-break-the-acting-game/id987251778?mt=8
* Daniel Tiger for Parents by PBS KIDS, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/daniel-tiger-for-parents/id1185651115?mt=8
* First Words Checklist: Teacher Edition by Cognitive ToyBox, Inc., https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/first-words-checklist-teacher-edition/id1142675436?mt=8
* Five Big Dinosaurs by Inclusive Technology Ltd, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/five-big-dinosaurs/id1116604087?mt=8
* Good Night, Little Foresters by Fox and Sheep GmbH, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/good-night-little-foresters/id1300717402?mt=8
* Kuca Senses by Kuca Boom, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/kuca-senses/id1258342667?mt=8
* Max & Meredith: The Search for Percival by Move On Pluto LLC, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/max-meredith-the-search-for-percival/id1135323982?mt=8
* Mighty AAC by DANIEL M DUARTE JR, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mighty-aac/id1210591921?mt=8
* Outloud Citymals by Outloud, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/outloud-citymals/id1202245004?mt=8
* Reading Train – My First Books by The Learning Station, LLC, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/reading-train-my-first-books/id1201673979?mt=8
* Sago Mini Friends – Go on a playdate! by Sago Mini, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sago-mini-friends-go-on-a-playdate/id1245748156?mt=8
* Sweet Home Stories (Full) by PlayToddlers, https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sweet-home-stories-full/id1201347351?mt=8
* Toontastic 3D by Google, Inc., https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/toontastic-3d/id1145104532?mt=8

.
Angela Moorad, MS, CCC-SLP
Speech-Language Pathologist
Founder of OMazing Kids, LLC – inclusive wellness & educational activities for kids of all abilities
Facebook Messaging for OMazing Kids: http://m.me/OMazingKidsYoga (note: Facebook frequently changes the link to messaging so if this one doesn’t work head over to my page and click on the “Send Message” button)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/OMazingKidsYoga
AppPeeps Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OMazingKidsAppPeeps/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/amoorad
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/omazingkids
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/amoorad1
Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/OMazingKids/
YappGuru: http://yappguru.com/user/omazing-kids/
Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/110305433538768736741
Boardmaker Share: http://www.boardmakershare.com/Community/FriendsProfile/10916/Angela-Moorad
Blog: http://omazingkidsllc.com
.
Angela Moorad is the founder of OMazing Kids, LLC and is an ASHA certified & licensed pediatric Speech-Language Pathologist and Kids Yoga Teacher with 28 years experience working in a variety of settings (early intervention, schools, teletherapy & a nonprofit pediatric rehab hospital for children with developmental disabilities). She is an app beta tester for educational & therapeutic app developers and loves sharing info about great apps, products, books & toys to use with kids of all abilities.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: